Bangladesh Premier League T20
The fourth edition of the Bangladesh Premier League is going to take place in this coming November; BCB Media Committee chairman Jalal Yunus informed about the matter.
Latest topics
Buy Now

Mashrafe all set to retain captaincy

Go down

Mashrafe all set to retain captaincy

Post  Admin on Mon Jan 07, 2013 5:46 am

Reigning champions Dhaka Gladiators will be the first team to start their journey of BPL 2013 hosting the team introduction ceremony officially at a local hotel in Dhaka on Monday.

The Gladiators will declare their captain in the ceremony. Rumours were rife that Mashrafe Bin Mortoza, who led the team to clinch the maiden title, would retain the captaincy. In addition the franchise will also unveil their jersey for the season and launch the team Mascot. The holders, who turned out to be the most expensive franchise for the consecutive second time, confirmed that they would not get the service of the Sri Lankan speedster Lasith Malinga. They however thought a replacement of Malinga whose name they reckoned, would excite everyone.

“We were informed that Malinga has sustained an injury and he was advised at least two weeks of rest by his physiotherapist,” said Dhaka Gladiators chairman Selim Chowdhury.

“He was one of the main stars of our team but there is nothing to worry about for the Dhaka Gladiators followers. We have already thought of a replacement for Malinga and I believe the name will make everyone excited. If all goes on track we will name the replacement in tomorrow’s (Monday) ceremony,” Selim added.

The franchisees were allowed to spend USD$ 1.5 for purchasing the players from the auction and Dhaka Gladiators has been on top on doing so. The side purchased Bangladesh all-rounder Shakib Al Hasan for USD$ 3,65,000, the most expensive player in the auction. And at the same time they retained their captain Mashrafe Bin Mortaza and top-order batsmen like Mohammed Ashraful and Anamul Haque Bijoy.

Among the foreigners, Pakistani all-rounder Shahid Afridi, Tilakratne Dilshan of Sri Lanka and Luke Wright of England highlighted the line-up.

Dhaka Gladiators will lock horn with Khulna Royal Bengals in the opening match of the second edition of the money-spinning tournament at Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium (SBNCS) on January 18, as per the schedule released by the BPL governing body.

Posts : 469
Points : 1298
Reputation : 8
Join date : 2011-12-23
Age : 25
Location : Dhaka

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Back to top

Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum