Bangladesh Premier League T20
The fourth edition of the Bangladesh Premier League is going to take place in this coming November; BCB Media Committee chairman Jalal Yunus informed about the matter.
Latest topics
Buy Now

BPL 4 set to have eight franchises

Go down

BPL 4 set to have eight franchises Empty BPL 4 set to have eight franchises

Post  Admin on Fri Sep 09, 2016 1:39 pm

Gemcon Group and Renaissance Group have owned the Khulna team and Rajshahi team for the upcoming Bangladesh Premier League T20 2016, the fourth edition. The tournament is likely to have eight franchises as Khulna and Rajshahi are joining.

BPL 4 set to have eight franchises Khulna-Rajshahi-re-joining-BPL-768x597

Bangladesh Cricket Board has approved Gemcon Group as the owner of Khulna team. Gemcon Group was the owner of Khulna Masters in recently concluded Masters Cricket Carnival 2016 where they won the title. Another MCC franchise, Renaissance Group will own the Rajshahi side. Alif Group is losing it’s ownership for Sylhet.

BCB director Sheikh Sohel has confirmed the news. He said, “We are including two more franchises from the next edition of BPL. Renaissance Group will take Rajshahi while Gemcon Group will have Khulna. We are also looking for new owners for Sylhet Superstars as we had to cut off our agreement with the previous owners due to their failure to pay.”

BCB president Nazmul Hassan Papon has said earlier that the board will take legal actions against Alif Group for failing to pay the players. The BPL Governing Council is in talks of getting a new owner of Sylhet side.

BPL T20’s fourth edition is all set to have 8 teams for the first time. The champions Comilla Victorians, runners-up Barisal Bulls, Rangpur Riders, Dhaka Dyanmites, Chittagong Vikings and Sylhet are the sides from last year’s BPL in 2015.

Khulna Royal Bengals and Duronto Rajshahi played in first two tournaments, 2012 and 2013. They had played in the Semi Finals in 2012. Khulna were owned by Orion Group and Rajshahi were owned by Digital Autos.

The fourth edition of Bangladesh Premier League will kick off from November. As the tournament will have eight teams, more players will get the chance to play country’s top T20 league.


Posts : 469
Points : 1298
Reputation : 8
Join date : 2011-12-23
Age : 25
Location : Dhaka

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Back to top

Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum